HendricksonOrgan.com - 11  
Back to the Home Page General information on the Hendrickson Organ Company
Information on organs that have been built and opus list News from the Hendrickson Shop and the Organ Community
Read articles wrtitten by Charles Hendrickson about organs and organbuildingRecordings of Hendrickson instruments online
Links to other related websites

Hauptwerk (I)
8 Prestant
8 Rohrflöte
4 Octave
2 Gemshorn
Sesquialter II
Mixture IV
8 II to I

Brustwerk (II)
8 Holzgedackt
4 Spitzgedackt
2 Principal
1 1/3 Quintflöte
Zimbel II
8 Regal

16 Subbass
8 Spitzprestant
4 Nachthorn
2 Nachthorn
Mixture II
16 Fagott
8 I to Ped.
8 II to Ped.

18 stops - 25 ranks - 1194 pipes
Mechanical key action - electric stop action.

Opus 11 - 1972
Mount Calvary Evangelical Lutheran Church
Richfield, MN

The tracker action pipe organ installed in Mount Calvary Church contains 18 stops and 25 ranks of pipes. There are approximately 1200 pipes in the organ.

The organ has been built along lines similar to those of northern Europe and the contemporary tonal design philosophy of the "Orgelbewegung" or organ reform movement, which stresses tracker action, low wind pressures, casework surrounding the pipes, and an integral, self-contained approach to the design of the instrument.

The casework of the instrument is oak, stained to match the woodwork of the church interior. Walnut has been used for the wood around the keyboards, and the granadilla and other woods have been used for the keys and drawknobs.

The organ is a 2 manual and pedal instrument, with each division separate and distinct from the others. At the lower center of the casework, just above the keyboards, are the expression shades of the Brustwerk division which is played from the top keyboard. Just behind the shades are the visible pipes of the 8' Regal. Above the Brustwerk division are the visible pipes of the Spitzprestant 8' of the Pedal division, and the Prestant 8' pipes of the Hauptwerk division. The Hauptwerk division is playable from the lower keyboard.

At the left of the organ, in the section of the room behind the grillwork are the blower for the organ, the rectifier, and the larger pipes of the Pedal Subbass 16' which are made of wood, and the Pedal Fagott 16' which are made of zinc.

The pipes of the organ are made from tin, lead, zinc, select sugar pine, and fir. The pipes are played by air from wind chests containing pallet valves and mechanical linkages to the keyboards from the pallets. An electric stop action and a free combination action are provided for changing the stops.

The organ was designed by Charles Hendrickson, with assistance from Paul Manz. The organ was built by Mr. Hendrickson with the assistance of Robert Sperling who voiced the pipes, Barry Lund, shop foreman, and David Engen, Peter Mokkonen, Kenneth Stromberg, David Lofgren, and Richard Traver.


(this e-mail link is not clickable for security purposes)